//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Who doesn’t love Dr. Seuss?

green-eggs-and-hamIn my elementary school, reading was a big part of the curriculum. Our teachers really pushed reading for entertainment.

In fact, there were prizes for students who scored the most points off of the summary quizzes that you took after finishing a book. One prize was getting to eat in the library (which happened to be a big thing at the time) which included picking out a prize afterwards. I chose plastic pastries, I’m not sure why but I would say it was a good choice. Another prize was going to see The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe. And then there was the point store, which was really our concession stand in the gym, where students could buy items like capri-sun lunch boxes or bouncy balls, etc.

Anyhow, in kindergarten we read “Green Eggs and Ham” by Dr. Seuss.  Majority of us students were reading more challenging books by then but everyone enjoyed the silliness and illustrations of Dr. Seuss.

After reading the book my teacher Mrs. Walters, along with the other kindergartener teachers decided to include an activity. We were going to make green eggs and ham.

In the classroom, my teacher brought a mini stove-top cooker, green dye, and of course the eggs and ham. Each student got to take a turn scrambling (not frying like in the book, but we were six so I understand the teachers change in plans) green eggs. Till today, this is still one of my fondest memories from elementary school. But the day got better as it went on, if that was even possible for a six year old who got to help make green eggs and ham. At lunch time our cafeteria made green eggs and ham for everyone.

As one can imagine green eggs and ham don’t actually look that appetizing but it made everyone feel like they were apart of the story. It was a brilliant way to get students interested in the story even if they weren’t already big readers. For the students that already loved to read it was the cherry on top.

“Green Eggs and Ham” may only have fifty  different words in it, but those fifty different words sold me, call me Sam. Excuse me while I go watch the “Green Eggs and Ham” cartoon, that I didn’t know existed until now,  and relive my childhood.

Discussion

One thought on “Who doesn’t love Dr. Seuss?

  1. I longer this book and it made my day to read this blog. I loved all doctor suess books and read them even in 7th grade.

    Like

    Posted by daltonofun | October 3, 2014, 1:27 am

Leave a Reply

