//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Rejection

I see it every time there’s a test on AP physics or APUSH or some incredibly challenging class that we offer, people are frantically trying to absorb information in downtime of other classes or students are talking about how they got only 2 hours of sleep last night because they needed to study for this test. And kids are ruined for the rest of the day after taking that test and feeling like they failed. So if the high amount of stress and anxiety wasn’t enough going into taking the test there’s always the downpour of depression after taking it. All of this for a GPA, to get higher in class ranking, to impress parents. So many students believe they need this to be successful.

And I would like to say it’s not worth it.
Throwing yourself so far to reach these goals of high school perfection is admirable and respectable. But honestly I don’t see how on earth it’s worth the amount of stress people go through to get there. Maybe I’m not an incredible over achiever but I also don’t think that a test should be worth making someone upset enough to cry or lose enormous amounts of sleep for. Also this is high school– this isn’t supposed to be the time for people to fall asleep at 4 AM in their textbook (save that for college buddy). It’s supposed to be about finding out what you actually want to do, what interests you, what you’re passionate about and also maybe what you dislike too. It’s the last of times where you’re surrounded by your family and are able to see them everyday. And I would much rather be able to spend quality time with my family than lock myself in my room with the ridiculous amount of homework some people have.

And I truly think majority of this insanity comes down to parents pressuring their kids. I hear so many kids saying “my parents are going to kill me if I don’t get a (fill in grade of expectation)”. And from when they’re young they’re expected to succeed their parents expectations. All I can think is it’s not worth it, it’s not worth feeling miserable and stressed for.

My GPA isn’t perfect and maybe it’s not exactly where I want it to be, but I can tell you that I do get a healthy amount of sleep every night and I’m able to attend family movie night. Also, I’m reassured that when I’m going to look back on high school I’m going to enjoy it for the last laid back years of my youth.

Discussion

One thought on “Rejection

  1. Preach on! I agree wholeheartedly.

    Like

    Posted by bigredpoet | November 17, 2014, 2:44 pm

Leave a Reply

