//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Thank goodness

Thanksgiving is coming around and I can’t wait for food (turkey, gravy, potatoes and pie, oh my) but also I can’t wait to spend the holiday with my family. And I know that thanksgiving is supposed to remind people of what they’re thankful so I’m gonna shout out to a couple of things I’m grateful for.

I am thankful for so much each day, honestly. However I’m going to cover the highlights.

I’m incredibly, eternally, thankful for my group of friends that I have (#squad). It amazes me each time I realize how much my group of friends was meant to be. I cannot imagine surrounding myself with any other kind of people. I truly feel like we’re a four piece puzzle. I always hear about other difficult friendships and people getting mad at each other or talking behind their friend back or some form of ridiculous catty drama. Every time I hear snippets of that it’s like “oh wow, I’ve never had to deal with that” and I don’t believe I ever will with this group.

Another thing I’m very much thankful for are my sisters. And trust me when I say yes, they have annoyed me, pissed me off and fought with me several times. But I don’t know what on earth I would do without them, they’re the people I talk to when I’m upset with my parents and they understand %110 why because they’ve been through similar situations. I can get in a fight with them and five minutes later (10 if I’m having one of those grudge-holding moments) be fine and be talking about how we’re craving Chuy’s. There have been moments where I’ve been by myself at my house and I’ll just sit there and I’ll be so bored by myself and then when one of them gets home I’ve got my partner(s) in crime again and I’m ready to roll.

And lastly, I’m just thankful to be alive. That sounds silly, like no duh who wouldn’t be? But I just feel like anything can happen at any moment and you don’t ever know when that last one is so I’m just happy to be able to take in more moments each day. I had a teacher in sixth grade (Mr. Williams I think) and he used to tell us to be thankful for the little things, he would tell us that everyday he was thankful to walk (his brother was handicapped in a wheelchair) and I took that to heart. I am thankful for the little things that we tend to pass over, I’m so thankful that each night I fall asleep in my bed and I’m able to wake up the next morning. I’m thankful to see, just to take in colors and look at all the different things I’m not positive my mind could conjure itself without the help of sight. I’m thankful my cat comes in every night and sleeps in my bed.

It’s so easy to feel like you’re life isn’t good enough for you or maybe that things aren’t going as you would like them to be, or maybe you feel like you deserve more. But when I add all of these little and big gifts together I can’t
help but to feel grateful because I know that my life is actually pretty well off compared to other situations that people go through. And I think it’s really important to count the good things that you’ve got goin’ instead of the bad. And if that doesn’t make you thankful, then you can rely on the thought of: you’re life and situation could always get worse (for the pessimists out there). 😉💖

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

